Showcasing the best in BC health care.

The BC Health Care Awards were created in 2007 to celebrate successes in BC's publicly funded health care community and to thank the incredible health employees responsible for these successes - people who are often too busy to appreciate their accomplishments.

A variety of people play vital roles in delivering health services in BC. Some of them you meet face-to-face but many more work behind the scenes. All play an important role in delivering quality health care.

Nominations are accepted in January and February each year with winners announced at a luncheon in June.

Presented by the Health Employers Association of BC (HEABC), the BC Health Care Awards recognize the efforts of health care employees who provide quality care and support to the people of this province and acknowledge excellence and innovation in publicly funded health care.

HEABC coordinates the human resource and labour relations interests of more than 250 publicly funded health care employers in British Columbia and represents denominational, proprietary and affiliate health employers, as well as the province’s six health authorities.

BC Health Care Awards are given out in the following categories:

Awards for projects

  • Top Innovation – Affiliate
  • Top Innovation – Health Authority
  • Workplace Health Innovation
  • Collaborative Solutions

In each of these categories, one Gold Apple and two Awards of Merit are given out.

Awards for individuals

  • Health Care Hero - Affiliate
  • Health Care Hero - Fraser Health
  • Health Care Hero - Interior Health
  • Health Care Hero - Island Health
  • Health Care Hero - Northern Health
  • Health Care Hero - Provincial Health Services Authority
  • Health Care Hero - Vancouver Coastal Health

Recognize a health care hero in your community - a winner is chosen from each of these seven categories. Of these, one is recognized as the Provincial Health Care Hero – a health care superhero!

The awards are judged by a committee of volunteers consisting of community, academic and business leaders.